Get in touch

Contact Details

Felbridge Primary School

Everyone achieving more than they thought possible

Log in

Early Years Foundation Stage

In our Reception Class, children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum set up for children from birth to five years.  The curriculum is made up of seven areas (three prime and four specific) of learning:

Prime Areas:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Specific Areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Children are encouraged to develop and use the new skills they have been taught in a well planned, play based currciulum, where many activities are child initiated. Continuous observations are made of children's learning, which are documented along with photographs for assessment purposes. The children have full access to both the indoor and outdoor classroom and similar learning takes place in each environment.

Children do much of their learning in 'Learning Pods' where their individual interests form the basis of the activities they choose to undertake.